The Twelve Beers of Christmas- XI

St. Nick’s Oak Spiced Porter

  A few days before Christmas an early present arrived on my desk: a couple of bottles of Christmas beer that I had not been expecting or had even heard of.  The mystery beer was a collaboration brew by the teams at Russell Brewing and their sister company Fort Garry Brewing, and went by the name St Nick’s Oak Spiced Porter.  I have always been a strong proponent of being gracious about accepting a gift, so I took it home and drank it.  And if you should come across one, you should too.  Here’s why:

  The porter is a deep brown, almost black, and holds up a tight tan head.  The scent of the porter is wonderfully complex.  I found lots of malty molasses, black cherries and a coffee/vanilla combination that put me in mind of a vanilla latte.  Full-bodied, creamy, with  tastes of dark chocolate, coffee, cocoa, molasses and subtle vanilla and spice hints.  More of the same on the finish, with the spices (cinnamon, nutmeg) exerting a little more influence, and a dark plum note as well.  A superb blend of flavors.
  So while I can not tell you for certain that there is a Santa Claus, I strongly suspect there is.  How else would this beer arrive, unannounced and unexpected?  I can, however, guarantee you that there is a St. Nick.  And he makes a darn fine porter.

About beergeekblog

You're pretty certain you love beer. Here at beergeek.ca we know we do. Every delicious malty, hoppy, bubbly, frothy drop.
This entry was posted in New Releases, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Twelve Beers of Christmas- XI

  1. Miranda says:

    any idea if they export any of this to the US? i’m stricken with envy!

    • beergeekblog says:

      Sorry to say Miranda, but the beer had very limited distribution even here in B.C.- I am actually not even sure if it was offered for sale. I’m not joking when I say it simply arrived at Christmas, a surprise from the brewers. Hopefully next year they will have it more widely available. It truly is delicious!

Leave a comment