So I Never Said “Every Week”… Beer o’ The Week Four

After a busy summer off, spent attending to work and family, I happily find that the time is fast approaching for my favorite festival:  The Great Canadian Beer Festival!  This has got me to thinking (as I am occasionally wont to do) about blogging about some of the many superb beers that I have had since Beer of the Week Number Three.

There have been many beers, in uncounted styles, ranging from the mundane to the exceptional.  But I think that this week I will go with something a little unusual: Rogue Ale’s fairly unique Chipotle Ale.  I must admit I was a little reticent to try this beer, based entirely on a terrible experience with a cask-aged, jalapeno-infused beer about a year ago.  And truly, a chipotle is but an aged, smoked jalapeno (click here for more about the process).  But in the interest of furthering beer research I forged ahead.  And in the interest of setting a mood, I listened to a Mariachi version of “Hotel California“- which I must say complimented the ale very nicely.

But enough about the setting.  How was the beer?

The Chipotle Ale poured out a dark amber, coppery orange color (think iced tea), topped by a short, tight, off-white head.  There is a moderate scent, predominantly toasted oak and smoke, as well as some savory notes.  The flavor comes in much stronger, a lot of smokey oak and toasted grain as well as a bit of citrus hop bite, and a surprisingly restrained spice note.  This is only to lull you in to a false sense of security, as it is on the finish that the chipotle shows up, stronger but not overpowering, and accompanied by toasted walnut and vegetal notes.  I was impressed by this offering on two fronts: the judicious use of chipotle (it would have been easy to have it over-power the beer), and by the fact that it was a good beer, and not simply a novelty beer.

All in all another fine drop from the folks at Rogue.  With all the smoky bits it comes off almost like a rauchbier.  It wouldn’t fall under the “session beer” category for me, but I certainly enjoyed the ale and it’s definitely one to experience.

About beergeekblog

You're pretty certain you love beer. Here at beergeek.ca we know we do. Every delicious malty, hoppy, bubbly, frothy drop.
This entry was posted in Beer o' The Week, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

